Schengen Area Countries OR 26 European Countries And Schengen Area Map


Laura Amber, Tourism Guide

The Schengen area consists of 26 European countries which share their internal borders with Schengen members without any restriction.

By the Schengen agreement people of Schengen countries easily travel and freely make transactions of goods and services within the Schengen area.

The map which is given below shows you the list of Schengen counties, through this list you can easily plan to stay or visit any Schengen country. Schengen states have officially repealed passports and all other types of border control at their mutual boundaries.

List of Schengen Countries:

Schengen Area Countries - Schengen Area Map

26 Schengen Countries Area Map

  1. AT: Austria
  2. IS: Iceland
  3. BE: Belgium
  4. IT: Italy
  5. CH: Switzerland
  6. LI: Liechtenstein
  7. CZ: Czech Republic
  8. LU: Luxembourg
  9. DE: Germany
  10. LT: Lithuania
  11. DK: Denmark
  12. LV: Latvia
  13. EE: Estonia
  14. MT: Malta
  15. EL: Greece
  16. NL: Netherlands
  17. ES: Spain
  18. NO: Norway
  19. FL: Finland
  20. PL: Poland
  21. FR: France
  22. PT: Portugal
  23. HU: Hungary
  24. SE: Sweden
  25. SL: Slovenia
  26. SK: Slovakia

26 Countries of the Schengen area have over 400 million citizens and an area of 1,664,911 sq. mi. About 1.3 billion exchange of Schengen borders in total. 57 million exchange are because of moving of goods by road, with a worth of €2.8 trillion each year. The decline in the cost of trade because of Schengen differs from 42% to 1.59% based on geography, partnership, and other elements. Countries that are not in the Schengen area also get benefits.

Characteristics of Schengen Area:

The following are the main characteristics of the Schengen area.

  1. Unlimited crossing in Schengen countries
  2. No restriction on movement
  3. Crossing the internal border without any formalities
  4. Judicial and police systems improved
  5. By Schengen Information System(SIS) information can easily be shared with all country’s members
  6. The time of stay does not allow more than 6 months

Schengen Regulation within the EU Law:

Regulations included within the EU law are following

  • Visa Information System(EC) No.767/2008

This regulation helps to exchange data and provide short-term visas to Schengen members

  • Visa Code(EU) No. 810/2009

Such regulations issuing a visa for 90 days

  • Schengen Border Code

Carmelo Abela, Maltese Minister for Home Affairs and National Security

“Reinforcing our external border controls is an important tool for fighting the terrorist threat in Europe and improving the security of our citizens. Systematic checks at the external borders will provide us with a means to address potential risks to internal security, including that posed by foreign terrorist fighter returnees.”

  • Local Border Traffic Regulation(EU) No. 1931/2006

This regulation admires the freedom and principles, border crossing points are created to transfer only small border traffic

Visa Information System:

VIS was established in June 2004, VIS started with North African countries on 11 October 2011, and VIS is moved upward on a geographical basis.

IT system plays a vital role in exchanging information with internal and external border management, VIS biometric matching perform for verification and identification of visa holders.

VIS facilitates security mechanisms in the Schengen area in the following ways

  • Detection of Travelers:

VIS protects travelers by taking biometrics at the crossing way of the border.

  • Prevent Fraud:

VIS helps the Schengen area members to prevent fraud.

  • Investigate Unlawful Act:

VIS makes it easy to investigate unlawful acts.



most searched articles

France Visa Requirements For Nigerian Citizens

France Visa Requirements For Nigerian Citizens

France Visa Requirements For Nigerian Citizens Laura Amber, Senior Traveler, Italy Do you live in Nigeria and want to apply for a France Schengen visa? Are you bombarding Google’s search boxes with phrases like France visa requirements for Nigerian citizens? If yes is...

read more
Schengen Visa for Chinese Passport Holders and Citizens

Schengen Visa for Chinese Passport Holders and Citizens

Schengen Visa for Chinese Passport Holders and CitizensLaura Amber, Tourism GuideIn case you are looking for the most comprehensive information about Schengen visas for Chinese passport holders and citizens, you are in the right place. China is one of the biggest...

read more
Schengen Tourist Visa

Schengen Tourist Visa

Schengen Tourist Visa  Laura Amber, Tourism GuideIf you plan to travel in the Schengen area, firstly you have to apply for a Schengen tourist visa. A Schengen tourist visa is a permission to visit the Schengen zone for the purpose of traveling, attending...

read more